Project Team


Professor Colin MacCabe is Distinguished Professor of English and Film at the University of Pittsburgh where he has taught since 1985. He also holds a Chair in English and Humanities at Birkbeck, University of London.

Dr Lee Grieveson is Reader in Film Studies and Director of the Graduate Programme in Film Studies at UCL.


Dr Tom Rice was the senior researcher on the Colonial Film project and is now Lecturer in Film Studies at the University of St. Andrews. His dissertation at UCL was on the racial politics of silent cinema, and his work on the project has focused primarily on Africa and the Caribbean, and includes extensive work on the colonial film units. He has also written on Malaya and on Indian newsreels.

Dr Francis Gooding is a writer and researcher. His PhD thesis at the London Consortium was on the anthropology of history. He teaches art history at Birkbeck college and has published on anthropology, painting and music. His work on the Colonial Film Project has focussed on amateur film, missionary film, and Palestine.

Dr Richard Osborne is a lecturer in popular music at Middlesex University. His PhD thesis at the London Consortium was on the history of the vinyl record and he has written widely about film and popular music. His work on the Colonial Film Project has focused on India and southeast Asia.

Dr Annamaria Motrescu is an affiliated scholar at the Centre for South Asian Studies at the University of Cambridge.


Nigel Algar has worked as documentary filmmaker and is currently the Senior Curator of Fiction at the BFI National Archive.

Kay Gladstone is the Curator of Acquisitions and Documentation, IWM Film and Video Archive.

Patrick Russell is the Senior Curator of Non-fiction at the BFI National Archive.

Dr Emma Sandon is a Lecturer in Film and Television in the Department of Media and Cultural Studies at Birkbeck, University of London. She is an Honorary Research Associate at the University of Cape Town in the Archive and Public Culture research initiative and on the steering group of the AHRC Women's Film History Network - UK/Ireland. She has published on the colonial film archive in relation to Africa. 

The ADVISORY BOARD for the project included: Dr Stephen Badsey, University of Wolverhampton; Dr Fiona Bowie, University of Bristol; Dr Emily Caston, London Metropolitan University; Professor Paul Gilroy, London School of Economics; Professor Catherine Hall, University College London; Dr Diana Jeater University of West England; Professor Isaac Julien, University of Pittsburgh; Dr Bethan Marshall, King’s College, London; Professor Laura Mulvey, Birkbeck College, University of London; Professor Charles Musser, Yale University; Professor Mhadava Prasad, Central Institute of English and Foreign Languages, Hyderabad; Andrew Roberts, Professor Emeritus SOAS; Professor Sarah Street, University of Bristol.

ADDITIONAL ENTRIES on the website have been written by:

Dr Scott Anthony (Manchester University)
Dr Peter Bloom (University of California at Santa Barbara)
Dr James Burns (Clemson University)
Dylan Cave (BFI National Archive)
Bryony Dixon (BFI National Archive)
Kate Fortmueller (USC)
Kay Gladstone (IWM Film and Video Archive)
Dr Lee Grieveson (UCL)
Jon Hoare (Kingston University)
Dr Priya Jaikumar (USC)
Dr Spencer Jones (University of Wolverhampton)
Dr Jacqueline Maingard (Bristol)
Dr Jann Matlock (UCL)
Professor Colin MacCabe (Pittsburgh/Birkbeck)
Katy McGahan (BFI National Archive)
Dr Ashish Rajadhyaksha (Centre for the Study of Culture & Society)
Patrick Russell (BFI National Archive)
Dr Emma Sandon (Birkbeck)
Dr Martin Stollery (Open University)
Dr Sarah Street (Bristol)
Dr Jonathan Stubbs (Cyprus International University)
Dr Pete Swaab (UCL)
Professor Wendy Webster (University of Central Lancashire)


This project would not have been possible without the generosity and expertise of the curators and technicians at the BFI National Archive, Imperial War Museum and British Empire and Commonwealth Museum. With particular thanks to: James Donahue (BFI); Paul McManus (BFI); Alex Davidson (BFI); Dylan Cave (BFI); Jez Stewart (BFI); Jan Faull (BFI); Hannah Curry (BFI); Steve Tollervey (BFI); Kathleen Dickson (BFI); Ros Cranston (BFI); Bryony Dixon (BFI); Ian Kikuchi (IWM); Toby Haggith (IWM); John Kerr (IWM); Paul Sargent (IWM); Jane Fish (IWM); Corinna Reicher (IWM); Bryn Hammond (IWM); Mark Knights (BECM); Joanne Ichimura (SOAS), Dr Richard Smith (Goldsmiths); Cristina Pia; Filipa Cesar; Doreen Mende; Sarah Joshi (London Consortium).